new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Oh, for the love of Smokey
2004, December 1 - 9:38 p.m.

Two days until my birthday. I'm getting pretty jazzed about it. For starters I feel like my birthday is going to be fun times. That is awesome. Secondly, I'm ushering my 22nd year employed. That is soooo important. I'll be 22, employed, in love and living in Toronto. What is there now to be unhappy about?

Well, there is one thing on my mind. Smokey is at the vets overnight. I took him to his vet visit today. The vet did the old song and dance that makes me feel like I'm a bad pet owner. She pointed out his gingivitis and said for $300 I could get his teeth cleaned. Getting MY teeth cleaned doesn't even cost $300.

How many pet owners get their pets teeth cleaned? We brushed our cat's teeth in their first years of life and I think that's more than most people do. I give them treats that supposedly fight tartar.

She also tells me the food I feed them is crap and if Smokey has crystals in his bladder than it's the food to blame.

Sigh.

So she wanted to take a urinary test but Smokey's bladder was too small and he has to stay the night until he pees. They're also taking blood. This is gonna run me $250. The bloodwork, urine test and examination. I may get a free bag of food that should dissolve the crystals. Whee...

I wish I could have taken him to his old vet clinic in K-Town where they know his medical history and I know the vet isn't trying to swindle me.

Seriously, $300 to clean his teeth? I could go to a pet store, get cat toothpaste and probably handle the situation myself.

I'm trying to be a good pet owner. I avoided buying the no name cat food with the ash. I get good cat litter that doesn't stink and I never feed them people food. Yet Smokey is overweight (17 bloody pounds. The vet tells me to feed my cats seperately and then take away the dish. Yeah, like that is feasable in this place), has gingivitis and possibly crystals in his bladder form the food I've given him.

It can be very dispiriting! God, how would parenthood treat me. Ha!

But Caitlin and I are going to martini night tonight while Ross finishes up my birthday present here in my apartment undisturbed. I am treating this as a pre-birthday happy night and celebration of my new job.

2 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25