new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

The Keeper of the Stone
2001, May 1 - 9:59 p.m.

I've been thinking about this kidney stone I had when I was 14 years old. It's funny to remember being 14 years old, I was so different then. But yes, I was that age four years ago and I had an unnatural occurrence. When I think of that stupid, yet incredibly painful stone I laugh. Because as they told me in the hospital many times,I would laugh at this later.

Sitting in math class, I had a horrible cramp on one side of my abdomen. I went to the washroom, came back to class and then was confronted with more unpleasant sensations. When science class was about to begin I tried to go, I really did. I trudged up the stairs and I knew that I couldn't handle class. I trudged back down. I went to the main office. They told me to go to the attendance office. I leaned against a wall as I forced each step forward to the god-forsaken office. My mom was called. I waited. On a bench. No, I couldn't lie down, my mom would be in shortly. So I cried out my pain silently while clutching my side and fighting nausea. I wondered if people thought I was crying because I was in trouble.

My mom came and led me out to the car. The principal was there. My memory fails me here. I may have blacked out. He could have led to the car or carried me. I don't think I'll ever really know :P

The ride to the hospital was something else. I screamed, I cried and a couple times I needed to throw up. I got a ride in a wheelchair and was given attention immediately. The motto of the story? If you are going to go into emergency, make sure you are screaming.

But yeah. My doctor was "Doctor Peaches." He was quite femme and soft spoken. Looking back I think he was gay. Nice man, he was. Strange, though. He let me puke on the floor and then he cleaned it up himself. He was full of theories of why I was screaming in pain. It seemed that he had almost forgotten I was screaming in pain because I didn't get pain killers for quite some time.

Demerol is a wonder thing. I recommend it to everyone. It's spiffy.

but yeah.. my kidney stone. Apparently it runs in my family on my dad's side, though he is the only one who has never had one. Also I am apparently too young to get a kidney stone, but lo behold...

I had to pee in a bucket for two weeks for urine analysis. Then I had to take castor oil. It's as bad as they say.

I'm chuckling about the whole experience. Really I am.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25