new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Forgiven
2001, August 9 - 1:11 p.m.

I have so much work this week ^_^;; actually, not that much work, but I'm only a small part-timer and used to a couple shifts a week: Thusday and Sunday. This week has been Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday a split shift Friday and then Sunday. Oy. At least I'll be paid well this paycheck :D

I got an e-mail from Rock Star and I realized that we have been seeing so little of each other @_@ I'm leaving shortly, give or take three weeks and I've made no time for her :( Wicca is often out with her man friend and we never had too much to say to one another anyhoo, and I'm not mourning the loss of Hos to her man friend... Then there is Annabelle and Ella who make plans with me when I don't make plans with them. They're great fun and I love spending time with them but I'm a last minute plans kind of girl. That is, I like making them... and they aren't compatible with that sort of thing. Catholic is however and we have been seeing each other like crazy. Well not like crazy but every couple weeks out plus we work together twice a week.

I had religious conversation with Brent last night. He doesn't have concrete beliefs, that is, he doesn't have a religion. I have been born and raised Catholic. I believe in it, I enjoy it, I find comfort and security and understanding in it. I'm also very educated in what being Catholic means. It's so strange sometimes talking to someone who isn't. Most of my friends all of my life have been Catholic and they knew. I mean they knew. So when I wander into a discussion with someone who is not knowing of Catholic beliefs and they just don't get them I feel so... phazed. Brent knows historical bits and pieces but none of the miracles or holiness of catholism. I'm vague on the historical tidbits. Our discussion was interesting.

I have always found that many people who have found out that I'm Catholic rear up for a big debate to disprove my faith or discredit down my beliefs or put down those who believe the same thing. I hear all about the people who brain wash others into christianity and denounce pagens and Islamics and athiests and whatnot. It hurts my head... Isn't Catholism seen differently then all those: "Church of the new faith", "Church of the chosen Lambs" religions? Catholism is fairly unjudgmental... there are guidelines that need to be observed but it's all about living a good life, helping our neighbor, thanking God and respect. We don't try to make others Catholic. Conversion is great, but we aren't suppose to force anyone. We try to lead by our good example and love for God. People like what they see and convert. Saints have been canonized for such things... ;)

But my rant can go on forever. I just get annoyed when people insinuate that I have been brain washed as though that's the only way I could believe such a thing. Here's a thought... people who have not been raised Catholic don't understand nor know the facts. They just hear that it's 'oppressive' or 'intolerant' from their friends and base their opinions on christianity on a whole from one experience with some evangelical or the experiences of others that have been unpleasant... perhaps they have been brain washed by their peers not to like catholism. ?

I don't think everyone should try it, I just think that unless you have gone through as much Catholic education as I have you shouldn't be thinking that you know the whole deal. The Pope himself is always learning.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25