new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Thank You
2001, October 7 - 8:52 p.m.

I just came back from my Aunt Debbie's Thanksgiving dinner. It was absolutely delicious. After months of microwave pasta, toasted english muffins and bananas, I was only too happy to eat tender turkey, smooth mashed potatoes, perfect carrots all covered in seasoned gravy. Mmmmmm.

Mike's (my uncle) family was there. This girl named Britney is his niece. She's about, oh...9 I think. What a brat. I'm telling ya. When I was her age..(what an old hag I must sound like!) When I was her age I sat at the kids table. I sat there for 17 years. She threw a fit about having to sit there and wound up taking her mother's place while her mother ate in the kitchen. Spoiled? I think so! She had a loud, obnoxious pouty thing to say about everything! She came back one time crying because her brother, Kyle had hit her. Kyle is a little twit himself. He used to pick on my brother, Jamie. That era has passed, especially now that Kyle is 5'3 and Jamie is oh...5'10 I think >D But yeah. Anyhow, I know she was probably provoking him in some way and that's why he hit her. I was there once you see. Back in the day Jamie would go to whatever lengths he could to get a rise out of me. He would poke me or make rude noises in my ear or call me names or barge into my room while I was changing or turn the TV off while I was watching it or squirt me with a squirt gun while I was reading or push me onto the ground while I was with friends at school. *sigh* That was a very annoying time in my life. He's in grade 11 now and more mature. He stopped being such a jerk around the time I started high school. By the time he got there, 3 years later he, I assume, put that part of himself to rest. Everyone remembers it though. The way we fought. Though most put the two of us together. WE fought, WE were bad kids, WE couldn't get along. Geez...

Now we're fine. We talk like normal people do, we resolve arguments without them turning into fights, we don't feel any real need to be a pain in the ass to the other. It's a happy time now with us.

Another thing I noticed about this evening was how little of the family was there, of my family I mean. My grandpa and Aunt Terri and her family don't come anymore. It's very upsetting; we used to all be so close. Family gatherings were great. Now they're kind of depressing... yeah. I asked for my ring today. It's a bit of a family heirloom you see. It was my grandmother's then my mother's and now it's mine. Aunt Debbie has it in a bank vault and now I'm going to put it in a vault with my grampie. It would be easier for me seeing as how he's so close...It makes me feel weird though. Like I'm betraying her. She hasn't talked to Grampie in a year. I think there has been a big misunderstanding on both parts. I feel like I'm choosing sides. Makes me kinda sad, you know? My family used to be so tight. Now it's like I don't even have one.

Life goes on though, right? There will always be more Thanksgivings. Maybe one year they'll come together and give thanks.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25