new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Back to the 'ol Drawing Board
2001, October 17 - 4:53 p.m.

I hate Imaging Systems! I know it, everyone in my class knows it, my instructor knows it and now all of you know it too! *bah* It's a technical drawing course that's all about using a graph, ruler and T-square. So far I have thrown a fit in every Imaging Systems class we've had. I usually break down and nearly start to cry, I really do. I do have a bit of a gift, however for making my distress into an amusing theatric rather then an inappropriate emotional display.

Good grief..ok, like today I was on the last sheet of objects and there had to be three somewhat comlicated things on there that could be made with cylinders, squares or pyramids. I did a roll of scotch tape because it seemed easy. I started it then was told to not put it in a box but to start with elipses. So I did. Then Richard (instructor) said "Nono, they can't be on a slope, do them straight." I then, being a MORON sloped them the other way without realizing it. "nono, they CAN'T slope like that..here...like this, do them like this." "okay" So I get started. It's been about 35 minutes by this time I think. So then I don't know where to go after that so I need help again.

I can't even repeat what he said because I still don't understand. It's been about and hour now and I still haven't been able to figure out how to make the whole thing come together and look like a roll of scotch tape. I'm getting frustrated. Lindsay, beside me has been done for awhile. I suggest her next object be a roll of scotch tape. She's on to me, she knows I want, nay neeeeed help.

So she works away quietly and as I curse the tape to my self I suddenly hear "done!" She finished. It took her 25 minutes! "How the hell did you do that?!" "I guessed." "You guessed?" "Yep." It looked perfect >;/ I have a small emotional fit and let my head clunck to the table top. I start laughing. It really was funny in a way. Brandy and Steph found it rather amusing. They tried not to laugh too much. They assured me they sympathized with me. Brandy: You just don't have a technical mind." Damned right. I did finish, and then I made a staple gun that went without a hitch. I thanked Mary for that, I had prayed to her while I was making the tape. I prayed for serenity, not for the sudden ability to make perfect objects. I was able to calm down and focus. I had to make my last object at home without any help... I made a toaster. Not really complicated but I have the feeling Richard will understand.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25