new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

A Fighting Feminist
2001, November 14 - 12:42 p.m.

One more day until the vote for best final fantsy game is over. Whee. I love when people vote or sign my guestbook and stuff like that. Vote now!

I've been thinking about my pet peeves today. We all had a little rant about things we hate. We had a lot of time on our hands cause our 2D deisgn class was cancelled on account of Jackie (instructor) being sick. I hate quite a few things it would seem; One is when people misuse words. Like ignorant. Or redundant, or feminism.

Ignorant is the big one though. I remember a few years back, Rock Star had this good redhead friend and acording to Red, everything and everyone was ignorant. If someone gave her a dirty look that person was ignorant, if someone was rude then that person was ignorant, if something didn't work out the way she wanted then the situation was 'ignorant.'

For pete's sake...ignorant does not mean rude or inconvenient. It means unknowledgable, unlearned, unknowing. Someone who has never been taught how to read, write or do math is an ignorant person. A girlfriend who does not know her boyfriend is cheating on her is ignorant of the situation.

'Ol Red would have said he was ignorant to do such a thing, but no. He knew the full situation. He is far from ignorant. Someone who does not keep up with the news at all is ignorant. Ignorance is bliss. That phrase makes no sense if ignorance means rudeness.

On to my next word... redundant. I have been guilty of misusing this word, it's just so fun to use and it sounds nice and well...smart. But I know that it's not the sort of word that can be used often. I know what it means. Saying "tuna fish" is redundant because a tuna is a fish. The fish was unnessesary. Take my pal, Hos. She used the word redundant while describing her finished piece in art class. Is that the way you describe art? Redundant? Good grief.

Then there is feminism. If you believe that men and women are equal then you are a feminist, whether you like it or not. Why is it called feminism? Because that's the name our great grandmothers gave it when they were fighting for the vote. Well, it was suffrage, but the idea spread and moved to other avenues, like the right to jobs and equal consideration for thsoe jobs.

Some people say they're humanists but as far as I know that has nothing to do with equal rights and everything to do with philosophy and religion.

Others say, "That's anti-male, that's what that means." No, it doesn't. It means that you believe that women should have the same rights as men. I absolutely can't stand when people think that anti-male women are feminists. By definition, they can't be, because feminists believe in equality. The word itself, does cause a lot of controversy. Some people think that the word "feminism" shouldn't be used anymore but nuts to those people. The women who won our freedom to express ourselves gave the belief that particular name and we should respect it. No one is qualified to change it. Afterall, those women are the ones who did it all. Who do people think they are to change the word that represents the hard work of these women?

This has turned into a rant on feminism. It never fails to annoy me when I hear my friends say that they aren't feminists. To me, that means that they are afraid guys will thinkg they're anti-male and not like them for it. They may not think that's what they're saying, but I think it is. I don't understand the reluctance to agree with feminism. Is it out of fear of sounding anti-male? Is it because they don't want to be associated with hairy women who spell women with a y?

I don't know... But whenever I hear a girl say she is not a feminist I immediately lose a little bit of respect for her because in my eyes, not admitting such a thing makes you weak. It doesn't matter what other people think it means, or what it has come to mean; it means that you think you and every other woman, including me, your mother, your friends etc. are equal with eveyone else on the planet, regardless of gender. What is wrong with making such a statement? I think that feminism is a beautiful thing.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25