new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Bad Grammar Overload.
2001, November 30 - 2:15 a.m.

*yawn* It's kinda late but I like making entries. It's a nice part of my day to be able to reflect on my thoughts and actions.

I got groceries today, finally! Milk, bread, bagels, coffee mix, fruit... I try not to buy anything unhealthy but today I did. I bought tortilla chips and salsa. And popcorn too, actually (but only because I have to paint it for my painting class.) I could have done worse. I could have bought regular chips or cookies or ice cream. I have gotten used to not eating junk at home and it's been good for me. I have gained a bit of weight from eating choclate bars during breaks and Harvey's for lunch. I have made a resolve to not eat chocolate bars anymore. If I have a craving I will let that drop but I eat them just because and that's not healthy. And the Harvey's. From now on, if I buy my lunch it will be a sub or pita. That's cutting back on a small chunck of unneccessary fat from my daily diet so I'm pleased. I don't want to gain the freshman 15! I've already gained about 3-5 pounds which is quite a bit for someone my size (5'2.)

But enough about that. Today I worked on the I&I assignment (fart dragon) with the girls. Ugh, what a spat we had today over grammar! I know I was right too. It's very important to me to have good grammar. If I use bad grammar in my writing I like to know! I think this came from OAC Writing class. Thank you Ms. Garrah. Anyhow, the spat was over a couple of things, the most prevailant being this: posessive apostrophies (did I spell that right?) I always get confused with 'it's.' It is, its and it's. The apostrophie usually means posession but it's is a contraction. It is an exception to the normal rule of English. So that's where the problems stemmed from. To me, English is like a math with certain formulas. Brandy and Steph insisted that writer's (posessive) was spelled like this --> writers'. That is wrong! And they wouldn't admit it.

Oh, I had a bad grammar overload. Of course that's how you would do it in the case of Princess because of all the S's in the word but that is another certain rule not to be followed by all words! Argh!

Another was a dispute over subordinate (independent) and dependent clauses. An independent clause can stand on its own, a dependent clause needs an independent clause to make sense. i.e. dependent=and then the prince died. independent=the dragon mauled the prince. The dependent clause needs more thought, the independent clause makes sense. Now if you put them together= The dragon mauled the prince and then the prince died. It makes perfect sense and becomes a complex sentence. The and serves as a connection. Any sentence starting with: and, then, because, however, but...etc is a dependent clause and requires and independent clause to become a proper sentence.

Brandy didn't agree with me. Rather she sort of did, but did something else that hurt my poor head. She started sentences with verbs like 'seeing' which one should only do with grammar caution. She didn't indicate who was performing the actions and often left the verb ambiguous. Now she is a bright girl, I just don't think she wanted to listen to someone younger than her, especially since she has a year of university behind her. But I knew I was right. One last thing was that she would switch verb tense from the past to the present. (The dragon took its last breath, then falls to the ground.) *sigh* Anyway, in the end I managed to correct the grammar, mostly the possesive nouns though because microsoft word picked up on the mistake and proved me right ^_^;;

But yeah. That was my day. I think on Saturday I'm going to get a tattoo. More on that later. For now I think I'm off to join the grammar bitch diary ring.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25