new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Child of the 80's
2001, December 9 - 2:24 a.m.

Today was Rock Star's birthday. I sent her an e-card. No doubt she's out tonight, painting the town red. By that I mean drinking ^_^

I have been so utterly lazy these past few days. Today, once again I have spent the day in my pajamas. It's all due to my own stupidity, you see I have destroyed my sleeping patterns. Destroyed!! So yeah. Crap. Last night was pretty brutal though. Both Brent and I fell asleep while watching a Star Trek TNG marathon at around 11. I usually really like Star Trek TNG but I guess the all-nighter I pulled the previous night didn't go over so well witht the rest of my body. I woke up around 12-1ish and woke up Brent so we could get into pajamas. That was rather dumb on my part because then neither of us could get back to sleep. It struck me that we are a little like an old couple, falling asleep so early.

Anyway, there were some movies on so I watched them while poor Brent tried his damnedest to get back to sleep. I watched 'My Girl' until 5 am. That movie always gets to me. I can't stand to see people die in movies. Well, not in movies like that. I always cry when Vada goes crazy at Thomas J's funeral. I always cry during the Little Princess too. But only at the part when Sarah finds her dad after having been told that he's dead and then he doesn't know who she is. Perhaps I'm a bit of a wuss. But still. I can relate.

If I suddenly found my mom and she didn't know who the hell I was and people were going to drag me off to some God awful place because I'm parentless...well. Yeah. And it's only a children's movie too ^_^;; I still watch it from time to time. I never really get sick of it. It's a classic. Not with Shirly Temple though; that girl never did manage to look all that hard done by what with her ringlets. The newer, more revised version that managed to give Sarah some personality. That's the one I like.

If I have children, and it's likely I will based on the stats, I'm not giving them any 'Barney's Christmas' or 'Polk a dot door goes to HollyWood.' Nope, they're getting real quality movies like 'The Little Princess', 'My Girl','The Last Unicorn' and 'Toy Story.' It never fails to bug me that so many children's shows and movies today blow. Like cartoons today. Saturday morning cartoons used to be worth getting up for in the morning. Like The Muppet Babies, Garfield and Friends, Tiny Toons, Fraggle Rock (not a cartoon but still good), Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles... The 80's were a scary time but it produced a nice range of good cartoons. Today, all the cartoons have a like one or two seasons and then they're out the door. They just suck; such as Ned's Newt (bleh) and C-Bear and Jemal (Bwahahahahaha.) and various Disney spin offs from animated movies (The Little Mermaid, Aladdin, and others.) All didn't last long. As far as I know anyway.

To be fair though, some really great cartoons have come out in the past few years that deserve some recognition. The Powerpuff Girls, Reboot, Beast Wars, Animaniacs (God, why did that end??), and Hey Arnold (I'm mostly saying that for my brother who is a loyal fan of that show.)

I would also point out that the most popular shows tend to be anime. They have staying power that *tends* to last as long as the series ran in Japan. i.e. Pokemon, Digimon, Card Captor Sakura, Sailor Moon, etc. I don't know why they do so well considering that they're all butchered to hell ^_^;; But then that does say a lot about anime in general. Even when it's butchered, it's still a desirable show to watch here in North America ^_^ Too bad kids of today never got to see Astro Boy or Hello Kitty, or even the hideous and pathetic 'Samarai Pizza Cats' to which I give my 'Worst Dubbing Job Ever Award.'

What is my point in all this rambling? Well... I guess I felt like movie and TV media today has gone severely downhill. But, after some though I think there is hope. So long as we keep shows like the Powerpuff Girls on the air. It's just so clever; besides, it's kinda nice to see such originality. Kindergarten girls defending a town from outrageous monsters. Too cute for words, not to mention nice to see girls being the super heros for once and not being long legged, busty girls either ^_^

"And once again, Blossom, Bubbles and Buttercup have saved the day!"

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25