new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Money, money, money...
2003, December 19 - 11:39 p.m.

Oh woe is me. My feet are aching in protest. My aunt and uncle suckered me into working for them this Christmas break and because I'm a softy, I said yes.

Yesterday I worked 11-9. It was ten hours of hell because I forgot my running shoes in Oakville. Today I worked 12 hours: 11-11. Damn Moonlight Madness. My feet gave out after two hours because of the beating they took yesterday. I have these huge arches in my feet and when I'm wearing shoes that offer even a little less support than runners, I'm doomed.

I have another 11-9 tomorrow and a 11-5 the next day. Then I'm working lunches 11-3 on both Tuesday and Wednesday. Gah... This is the most unrelaxing break ever.

Speaking of breaks, I got in this fight with Dave at work. He let Marlene go on a smoke break and she was gone for 10 minutes. I had no problem with her taking a well deserved break. I have a problem with me not getting one too. I don't think that just because I don't smoke, I don't get the same amount of break time as a smoker. It's ridiculous.

A person shouldn't have to take up smoking in order to receive equal treatment.

So Dave got riled up and yelled at me and Marlene, who was also pushing his buttons and then stormed out. Meh. That's what you get for making your employees work 12 hour shifts and then cheat them out of due breaks. Especially when they're in the wrong shoes.

So there.

But that brings me to another thing. I don't need to work at Pita Pazzaz. I just don't. I have enough for school, I have enough for Christmas... I'm only doing it to put my poor aunt's mind and body at ease... and then I get problems when I go in? I am only doing a favour! It's not about the money at all. I think I deserve a certain amount of consideration. I was only asking for a 10 minute break. It's not a very nice way to treat a person who doesn't even need to be there.

Humph.

Now that that's out of my system, I have come to the conclusion that hoarding my inheritance is foolish. Money is only money and I will be done school, debt free. I can then afford to get nice clothes for my future career and buy myself some furniture for my future apartment.

Money can depreciate in value and it isn't a good idea to hang on to all of it. I'll keep some in GICs and have it grow until the day I really have a great idea of what to do with it, like making my wedding a great party or going on an amazing trip to Europe or if I'm lucky enough to have saved enough, putting a downpayment on a house.

But I'm not counting on any of it. Relying on an inheritance is a poor way to manage one's finances. When I'm done school, I'm gong to think of the best way to spend the money and go with it. Then I'll begin my life debt free and rely on my own talents and earned money to get me through the rest.

I think it's the best way.

I had this idea all along that it was my mother's money, and in a way it is. It's her financial legacy to me and the only financial help I will ever recieve from her for the rest of my life. I did what she wanted me to do and I put myself through school with it. Now it's time to take inventory and make the rest count.

It's a freeing step to really do this. I've kept my money in a corner of my mind for so long and now that I've decided that it was meant to be used to better my life, that is what I'm going to do.

I can't rely on her money to get me through life. I can't rely on her money for all the big purchases in my life. I have to be able to stand on my own two feet and not relying on my inheritance is part of that.

I think my mother would be proud of me.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25