new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

The Wrong Suit
2004, January 18 - 3:21 p.m.

Remember when I said yesterday that Brent lets this place go to Hell in a handbasket before he'll clean? Well, yesterday was that hell and the place is tidy again.

This is where I come in. I am always picking up after myself and moving dishes to the sink and rinsing them. I fold up and straighten and tidy in the living room. I keep the counters clean and the floors swept. But it only does so much when you live with Sloppy McGee who leaves his dishes everywhere, stickies up the counters and floors and untidies the living room.

I have a strict policy of not cleaning up after him. I did it for my father and brother and I shall never do it again (Unless I have children and then that's a whole different kettle of fish.)

I have been thinking a lot about my beliefs. I know now, and have known for awhile, that I can no longer consider myself a Catholic.

There are three major problems I have with the Church

1) It's still sexist. Women cannot become priests. Women are not allowed to receive all seven sacraments and no one can doo all of them properly because priests can't marry.

2) Homosexuals can't marry and it's considered a sin to perform homosexual acts. It's all in the old testament, not the new. Jesus never told anyone that being gay was wrong.

3)The ban on birth control. As if it is ok to tell married couples not to have sex unless they are trying to conceive. That is so bad for a marriage. That does not promote a happy family, that promotes disgruntled parents raising either a couple of kids or incredibly poor parents raising 10 kids. It's not practical.

Anyhow, I think the old testament is full of horrible things that need to be done away with. Further more I don't like how they made Mary Magdalene into a prostitute. She was likely Jesus' wife. He probably had kids. I say this because a Jewish man of Jesus' age wouldn't have remained single. It jsut wasn't done. Besides, if important people were after his blood than why would the gospels mentioned her or his children? they'd be in danger. People who believed he was king of the jews would have sought after his offspring and then there would be more trouble.

Plus Mary Magdalene was the first person he appeared to after he rose from the dead. If a man raises from the dead, wouldn't the first person he'd go see be the love of his life? These are just my theories

Gah... so I believe in Jesus, I think his message to love people and be a good person and forgive was beautiful. I will follow that and I will live my life by that I will will love God and appreciate Jesus' martyrdom.

All these years I was trying to make Catholicism suit me and fit me. It doesn't. It can't. I don't need a denomination. I don't need an institution. I can believe what I believe and feel what I feel without having someone else telling me what to think or how to act.

If I can make peace with God for my choices and actions and express regret to him then that is all I need.

2 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25