new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

God helps those who help themselves
2004, January 21 - 1:18 p.m.

Ok so guess what?

No, Guess!

Ok, I'll tell you... I got an interview with Wedding Bells! Brent encouraged me to call early at 9 am when the editor would most likely be at her desk. And she was!

So we talked for a wee bit and she seemed surprised I was calling about placements so early (which pleases me because it means that I'm not as doomed as I had feared) and I made an appointment with her for the first Monday of February at 10am. I feel much better. I just have to send her a resume over e-mail and bring in some of my newspaper clippings.

Now, considering that we're having a creative resume writing seminar today, I am happy this has happened the way it has. So as soon as I learn how to beef up my resume to the creative max, I'll e-mail it.

One thing... The Toronto Fashion Week story I did was in the paper on the first page of the Lifestlyes section in full colour with good photos. It was laid out really well too. It was going to be my openning clipping.

However....

Little Mel laid out the page and made a typo in the headline. A Typo. That is big enough of a flub to prevent me from using this amazing story clipping. I'm irritated. I mean, it's not like she did it on purpose or anything, but come on, my best story unuseable because of someone else's mistake?

It's very troubling.

But other than that, this whole experience has really made me feel foolish. Last night I pleaded with God to help me. I asked him for strength and for anythign he felt was best to help this editor consider me.

Everything happens for a reason. I don't believe in fate, but I feel (and this may sound ridiculous and egotistical to some) that if I tell God what I want to do with my life, he will help me reach my goals. He knows best how to help and how this is working out so far is really proving that to me.

I mean, being asked to send in a resume on resume seminar day after being unable to reach the editor for weeks? Amazing.

I should never have gotten so worked up. god love God, he always looks after me.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25