new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

The Shopaholic
2004, January 29 - 2:25 a.m.

Well, my mother's birthday has come and gone. I felt very bad about it last night but today was a fairly normal feeling day. I did things out of the regular routine but I was able to focus on other things; things that did not have me remember that my mother should be 54 today.

I had an interview with the associate dean for animation and uh... some other media programs.. bah, I have her card. I'll know what dean she is of what when I write the story.

Anyhow, it went well. I found her to be very forthcoming and pleasant. I like that in an interview subject. I like when the professional air a person has doesn't make an interview uncomfortable. I'll admit, I liked her. I wouldn't want to be in animation with all of the hufflah that's going on but I liked her all the same.

I also made my rounds at the mall and spent a hideous amount of money.

See, first I had to go to the bank and transfer money from savings to chequing so I can pay my rent. So $500 travelled across money space and is no longer under my care. Then I had my credit limit extended to $1500. I'm going on a trip and then after graduation, I want to purchase furniture. I felt the need to be able to buy various things at once rather than in sections.

I won't go nuts with it. Speaking of which, I bought Confessions of a Shopaholic as well today. I could never be that frivolous. It almost makes me angry to read how careless this character actually is. Nonetheless, I'm hooked.

I also bought a copy of Bridal Magazine. I've poured over much of it, hoping to be able to speak intelligently about this magazine when my interview comes up....this Monday!

So of course, I had to have interview clothes. I spent over $200 on new work type clothes. To be fair, I got plenty for $200. Three blouses, two pairs of pants and a knee length skirt. Ooh, I look so much older and serious in these clothes!

So combined with my knowledge of Bridal Magazine, my professional looking clothes and my portfolio (both hard copy and online) I feel confident about going in there.

Confident and very nervous.

But that is where all of my money went today. Twenty something plus with book/magazine, $200+ with clothes, $500 for rent.

C'est expensive. Good thing I can actually afford to do this. I wonder if I'd spend like this if I couldn't, like the shopaholic? I like to think I wouldn't. I like to think that if I couldn't afford spending like this I would leave the old credit card at home and/or snip it up.

But putting those thoughts aside, I really do look cute in my new clothes. I'm ready to take on the magazine industry and take whatever demeaning job they have to offer!

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25