new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Weddingbells may ring
2004, February 2 - 11:49 p.m.

Hey, it's Groundhog Day, isn't it? Well, at least it is for another 20 minutes.

I got to see Caitlin today, which is amazing because that girl hauls ass all over TO with little time to spare. Busy, busy, busy! I got to see her in action, postering for one of her many band buddies. I could never be that busy (I'm a tad lazy by nature, I'll admit it.) I don't know how she manages.

Though we walked so far and so long, and so so much that I could fully justify have a delightful piece of oreo cheesecake. It was godly.

But.... the reason I got to see her was because I was in the city and the reason I was in the city is because...

I had my interview with Wedding Bells today! I think it went well enough. I wasn't interviewed by the editor but by some other really nice woman who just got back from maternity leave (And my god, you never would have been able to tell.)

She looked through my portfolio and seemed impressed by how many stories I had under my belt. That made me feel good. she asked me questions about my background and why I was in journalism and why I liked it and so forth. I think I answered the questions well enough.

And I feel good about the whole thing because half of the interview was explaining to me what to expect while working there. That is a good sign. Unless they can see you working there, they never tell you what to expect. Rather, they grill you. But there was no grilling.

But get this - if I get in, I may actually be able to do some writing! Not just observation but writing! The whole thing seemed very hands on. However.... they're only taking one person this year. My God... One! Let it be me! In fact when she said that I jokingly pointed to myself and whispered, "Me!" to her.

Basically I was myself. Res once told me that people respond really well to me. What a lovely compliment, isn't it? Well, I hope she is right because I desperately want this placement. She said she'd know by the end of the month.

I'll be on vacation for reading week, that's 21-28 of February... I hope that if she calls and wants me to get back to her, she call on March 1st! I'm thinking that before I go, I'll change the answering machine message to let people know that I can't return calls until the 28. Oy, wouldn't it be horrible if I got a call from Wedding Bells and because I couldn't call back they gave it to someone else?

I would just cry, I would.

I'm also thinking of starting another journal, just a paper one for lonely train rides. So often I get the urge to write when I don't have the means.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25