new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Canadian Living
2004, February 4 - 9:00 p.m.

Ok... so under the pressure of finding a placement, I caved and applied to another magazine. I honestly can't wait until the end of February to know if I have the spot at Bridal Magazine. So many placement oppurtunites will get grabbed up in the meantime and I can't risk getting a crappy placement somewhere that won't do anything for me. I need to make connections and get valuable experience that will help me get a job.

So I applied to Canadian Living. It's a very good magazine and I would be lucky to get in there. I would prefer Bridal Magazine, it's my first choice... but Canadian Living, now that is truly a very good publication. Nothing for me to sneeze at.

I actually called them on a whim. No nervous feelings, no anxiety or anything. I just looked them up onine, found the phone number and editor's name and called and asked for her. I learned from the Bridal Magazine experience to call the head honcho first and she will direct you to the appropriate place.

Anyhow, I left a message on her voicemail and went off to a meeting thingy. When I came back to my delight and surprise, CL called me back and left a new number to call. One of my classmates said that the woman who called back for me sounded like she was very interested in talking to me.

I called and left another message and she got back to me within the hour! She said they had interns but there was another woman who wanted another. Well, that is good news. She asked me to send in my resume and I did - this time error free. I even had Brent add a little Maple Leaf to the corner because it seemed like a nice touch to add to a resume going to a blatently Canadian magazine.

I feel good about this.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25