new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

The Butterfly Effect
2004, February 15 - 12:10 a.m.

Ok, The Butterfly Effect. What a truly amazing movie.

I am the sort who regrets. I regret a lot. There are so many scenerios in my mind that I have played and replayed and have wanted to do over, completely different.

I am a believer in the chaos theory, always was before I even knew about the choas theory. Like forgetting your keys in the morning can completely alter the course of your life. Waiting outside your door for someone to come home and let you in could lead to you meeting someone passing by. OR being killed, OR witnessing a crime, OR...nothing. OR missing a phone call that would have changed your life.

For example, I almost deleted the e-mail from Wedding Bells letting me know I got the placement. It went into my junk mail folder. If they wind up hiring me, or I wind up making important connections while I'm there, it will move my life in a new direction. If I deleted that e-mail accidently, my life would have moved in a different direction.

If I hadn't been a bitch to various people in grade 9, what friends would I have then or now? Different? The same? If I hadn't yelled stupid things, or ignored certain occurances or Hell, decided not to go in animation program at another school in grade 12, I wouldn't have met Brent.

Anyhow, this movie made me contemplate every choice I have made and every choice that was ever made for me. Granted, the things that happened in The Butterfly Effect were far more traumatic in many ways and life alterring, and avoidable too. But all the same.

What if I made different choices in grade eight? What if in grade nine I never made any effort to befriend Rock Star? What if in grade 10, anime never came up in conversation between Caitlin and I? What if in grade 11, I hadn't switched friend groups from my old friends to the new friends plus Hos? What if I never helped Wicca and Rock Star make up after Rock Star said she hated Wicca? What if I never helped Rock Star and her ex get together? What if I hadn't chose to switch schools for a semester? What if my Mom hadn't died?

And I mean, all of these had surprisingly and not so surprisingly big results on my life. And that's just the stuff I can think of. There are other random choices I have made that have possibly changed my life.

I can only say that I recommend this disturbing but amazing movie. It's been many hours but I'm still thinking about it.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25