new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Making the Horse Drink
2004, April 10 - 1:47 p.m.

Today I buy a computer.

At least, today is the day I try to buy a computer. I tried to do it online, but because I'm a student they needed a co-signer for a loan. Nevermind my credit limit is high enough to buy one. Nevermind I won't be a student anymore in a couple weeks.

Bah.

So yesterday Brent and I made Jamie apply to college. Yes, we made him. We went over to Dad's where he was sleep at 2 frigging pm and I sang to him and stole his blankets and beat him with pillows until he got his sorry ass out of bed.

I paid for his appliaction. $65 dollars it was. It was a huge process because he was applying well after the applications were due. Most of the programs he wanted were closed. But between correctional services and pre-fireman studies and broadcast, we got him applied to five programs at various schools. None of them are in K-Town.

He needs to get away from his friends. Considering he didn't want to go to school here, perhaps he could understand that too.

I wouldn't have made him apply if I didn't think he actually wanted to go. He had expressed a desire to go before but never did anything about it.

I also wouldn't have forced him to apply if I didn't think it was the only way he'd have a chance in life. He has no skills and only some bum friends and a father with a short temper. He needs an education and surely when he finishes school and sees the opportunities he has, he'll finally get that.

Of course, making him accept and attend classes are things I can't do. I've dragged the horse to water and I made him drink but I can't make him swallow it down.

And really, he can only apply now, while he can afford to go. He has money now, but it will eventually deplete and then where will he be.

If he screws this up, there is little more I can do for him. I mean, do most sisters have to make their brothers not screw up their future? Bloody Hell.

On a completely different note, I can't use hotmail here (at my aunt's) for some reason. So much mail that I want to answer, it's driving me crazy!

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25