new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Fashion Plate
2004, May 30 - 5:32 p.m.

I worked all weekend at Bridal Magazine. I was actually paid for my work, but work is still work... and by the time next weekend rolls around, I'll have worked 12 days in a row, 10 of those days for free.

But seriously, getting paid for work is awesome. It's been so long... I have no idea how long it will take to actually be paid but all the same.

There is this one girl there, whom I shall only name The Fashion Plate, who has the worst grammar I have ever seen. I have had to copy-edit her stuff before and it's hideous. Her spelling is also worse than mine. She spells balloons with one "o." One! Gah!

Anyway, she left early on Saturday and I copy-edited her listings and I wanted to shoot myself. See, we have to copy-fit the listings into formatted columns. There are rules to follow to make everything look uniform, such as how many lines have to be present before a listing skips to another page... or how loose a sentence can be in the formating program we use.

Blah.

Anyhow, she screwed up just about every rule. There are several to follow, but it can be done. Not only did she make tons of copy-fitting mistakes but there were still plenty of grammatical errors that I had edited a week before that just weren't done!

Then she handed in her notes for corrections... and they were all wrong. She missed crucial errors that needed to be fixed and she marked unnecessary corrections which would actually be mistakes.

She completely messed up the flowers listings and the managing editor, who is a wonderful and patient woman, broke down for a bit because of all the unnecessary work that would be involved to fix them.

This girl can't write very well, works part time (I don't know if this is by her design or theirs) and simply doesn't seem like she does her job the best she can.

But she's paid and I'm working for free and at this point, I have the skills...

I know I'm an intern and I am happy to be an intern, but it can be very frustrating when you are working for free and making up for a paid employee's errors.

I'm tired... *sigh* five days until an actual weekend!

And I need to find a job before this internship ends. It would be nice if Fashion Plate would quit.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25