new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Then you'd be a man, my son.
2004, June 6 - 2:02 a.m.

It's 2 am and I can't sleep. It's my own fault for watching too much Fushigi Yuugi last night and sleeping late this morning and then watching too much Fushigi Yuugi again.

I should stop watching things like that; I'm becoming a romance addict. I mean, there's an amazing plot and great characterization... but the love! Oh, that sweet impossble love. I can't help myself. I've gone through 30 episodes in two days. I managed to get outside today, and tomorrow I must do laundry and get groceries... but make no mistake, I'll watch my Fushigi Yuugi and long for love, late into the evening.

Not that I'm unhappy being single. But that doesn't mean I can't wish for my own Tamahome.

I'm a feminist, don't get me wrong, but there is little sexier than an amazing man acting as a protector towards the one he loves.

And again, I'm all about standing up for my own honour, but I'm attracted to a man who would fight on my behalf.

Call it a leave behind from cavemen days. Like wisdom teeth.

It's silly, really. I mean, I have my own ideas about gender roles and behaviors... but there are certain things that I can't help feeling, despite being a 21st Century woman.

One. I hate seeing men cry. I mean, I get that men should cry if they need to and holding it in is bad... but seeing a guy cry at the movies or from pain... I'm sorry. I just don't like it. I wish I didn't feel that way but I do. I think women cry far too easily. I know I do. I've just always liked a guy who saves his tears for something important. Like a death or a break-up or... something like that.

I am not a fan of a guy who woulnd't fight for his love. I mean if some guy was being an ass to me, and I was with my boyfriend/fianc�e/husband, I would expect him to intervene.

I mean Brent was the sort who couldn't bring himself to tell loud people to quiet down at the movies. That's not why I wasn't in love, but lord knows it wasn't one of his more attractive moments.

In fact the other day I saw Shrek2 by myself and there were these guys beside me being noisy. I was getting so mad. Then the guy on the other side of me turned to them and asked them to be quiet. He was my personal hero.

Another thing (and oh, this is not being a strong woman and I know I should be shot) but I like a guy who can fix things. Cars, plumbing, carpentry, anything. I think it's masculine to know how to do that. And frankly, I'm plumb useless with things like that.

Finally... I don't care what a man is afraid of, we all have fears, but he has to be willing to kill spiders. If he can't keep spiders away from me, then I don't know where we'd be.

Sad isn't it? I want my own champion. Just someone who would stand up for me, who is control of his emotions, who is handy and who can kill spiders.

*grin* I wonder how I'd feel if I heard the requirements some other guy has for women? If they're as stereotypical as mine I suppose I'd be angry.

What can I say? I guess I'm a hypocrite.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25