new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

The British Isles
2004, June 11 - 7:33 p.m.

Guess what? I'm going backpacking through Europe.

Well, not all of Europe, just England and Scotland. Scotland because I have a strong Scotish heritage and it would mean so much to me to go there and see it.

England because it's right there, I already speak the dang language and I have wanted to see it for years.

I was inspired when I was 13 to do this. I saw my mom's photo album of when she went to England and Scotland and I wanted to go too. I want to see the places that she saw and experience them for myself.

I'll be going alone. If I wait for someone to be able to go with me, I'll never go. This is the time. I can afford to go now, I have no job to tie my down, no boyfriend, no obligations.

I'll only go for 20 days. I have that much planned out. 5 days in London, 5 in York, 5 in Edinburg and 5 in Inverness.

It'll be expensive going alone and more than 20 days would be too much for me. But there we have it. I'm, planning for July 10-30 of this year.

Can you imgine the pictures I will take and the journal entries I will write? My God, I can already see myself in the train crossing the british isles. I will have a lot to buy, for backpacking and safety, but that's fine. Like I said... I can afford it now.

I recall thinking of spending my money buying certain things... This is better. I can think of no better way to spend my inheritance than to go backpacking through the British Isles. My dad may go nuts, but I think in the end he'd be proud. My mom would be proud.

I would be so proud of myself. It's on my list of things to do.

That and teach in Japan.

And get my degree at some point.

But that can wait. This is the now. I am going to do this. I have a plan in the making and it's going to happen. Brent and Ella were right... I shouldn't wait. They have been so supportive about this.

If anyone has any planning tips, I would love to hear them.

I'm excited.

2 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25