new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Boo!
2004, July 16 - 5:22 p.m.

I went through the York Minster today. It was an incredible sight. It's a massive gothic cathedral with twin bell towers. I climbed up the main tower, which I think it the highest point in town.

H.O.L.Y.F.U.C.K. Ok, first off, it's 275 steps - steep steps - up and a spiral stairway. I wanted to cry when I finally reached the top. I thought I reached it once but it turned out I only made it up half way and still had over a hundred steps up to go.

But the view... my God, what a great view. York is so old, and wonderful... it was a sight I'll remember. Plus I got pictures, so how can I forget? Heee!

I also rode the tour bus today. I learned plenty about British history. Taxation on pocket watches and sunlight through your windows, the reason why old buildings get wider with every story (taxation on property situated on the ground, so most of the space was built atop the ground floor, getting wider with each story) plus Viking information and everything!

After the Ghost Walk tonight I'll check in but tomorrow I want to see the Viking areas. I've seen so much already... York Minster, Holy Trinity

Church, The York Dungeon, the Shambles, plus war memorials, old pubs and tons of other great places.

I can't believe I still have three more cities to see!

I do miss people though. People I know. I could go for some of Caitlin's rock star stories, or Ella and Helena's coolness or Brent's political discussions or Ross, just as he is, even just to look at him.

Two weeks until I come home and I'm having a blast... no one could drag me home yet, but at the same time, I'm getting a sort of home-sickness. Only, it's not for home. I'm getting friend-sickness. Travelling alone is exhilerating and wonderful, but I can see the benefits of a travel buddy.

But! I have a full night ahead of me in Europe's spookiest city. Ghost walk, here I come!

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25