new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

A Grown-up
2004, December 12 - 11:43 p.m.

My first day of work is over. Looks like my weekends are Sunday and Monday. Oy. That is a little unfortunate, because Ross has hockey practice on Sundays. He moves into his place in Ottawa on Wednesday. Between my new working hours and the five hours of distance between us, our work is now going to be cut out for us.

But first, my new job. I gave my word that I'd stay a year. After my first day, I am pretty sure that won't be a problem. The women are nice there. They are pleasant and relaxed. The work, which I got to dabble in, seemed manageable.

It's really hit me. This is not a temporary job. This is not an unpaid internship. I am going to be financially independent and responsible. I am now an adult. I have always felt like despite the fact that I was done school and didn't live at home, I was still a sort of kid. I was living off of my inheritance. Still, in a way relying on a source other than myself.

So, with my job, my apartment, my life... I'm a grown-up. Wild. Just wild.

There is going to be a Christmas party for Closed Captioning on Thursday. Evidently, I have a Kris Kringle to buy for. She's getting Turtles. What else do you give to someone you've never met?

Then there will be a baby shower and a going away party. Yeah. Plus, I was given hope for the holidays. Since I'm in training and they aren't going to be relying on my work, getting Christmas and New Year's Eve off shouldn't be a problem. I just need to work out the details with the head hauncho. Looks like I came in to this place around the right time.

There are also benefits. I can go to the dentist and I get my birth control pills paid for. Life is good. And now less expensive. Though now I need a metro pass. Oh well.

Getting my degree has been put on hold. I've been trying to communicate to Athabasca, but it's been a tad hard. They want this portfolio of experience but they haven't told me what that is or how to do it. I've asked the right person but no luck. Now is no longer the time anyway. I have a job. I need to get that and my long distance relationship managed first before I add any new time consuming things into my life.

Ross only left an hour ago and I already miss him. It's ridiculous how much. the hours of cuddling and kissing and talking and laughing... it's never enough. We had a small fight Wednesday night. It's the second we've had. His easy going ways are great, but sometimes he's too easy going in some areas for my liking. Like, with time for example...

But we resolved it all. I couldn't imagine how I'd feel if he was ever mad, or worse, disappointed in me. I doubt my ability to handle it. Both fights were because I was unimpressed with something he did. Both because of poor judgement calls. Nothing bad. Ha, he doesn't have it in him to do anything bad. Misjudged, yes, but never bad.

I see him again on Saturday. That's five days from now. then Sunday night I meet his...Mother! Yes, I will meet his mother, sister and grandparents and uncles and so forth at a holiday thing at his grandma's in the city. Should be neat. Should be interesting. I hope they like me.

1 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25