new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Farewell to 2004
2005, January 3 - 10:16 p.m.

I just got back from Ottawa. It was a good New Years, the important thing is that I spent it with Ross.

But what I want to write about is what I've done and what I've learned this year.

This year I:
Went to Cuba,
Interned at Bridal Magazine,
Broke up with Brent after 3 and a half years,
Graduated from college,
Moved to Toronto,
Met and fell in love with Ross,
Backpacked through England and Scotland,
Was Catholic's maid of honour at her wedding,
Turned 22 years old,
Got my first grown-up job at H. PLACE.

Pretty awesome year, I think. And from all of that, I learned so much... I re-read my previous year's lessons and 2002, I was pretty deluded and full of exucses for everyone, my relationship, and myself. 2003, I had much more clarity and this year, I know I've come much further.

1. If you're in a serious relationship and you're not in love by now, it's not going to happen. You don't have to try to be in love, it just occurs.

2. When you're in love, making efforts to make the other person happy feels effortless. It's about wanting to make him feel as good as he makes you feel.

3. I am far more capable than I think I am. I always knew I could handle emoional hardships, but now I know I can handle crisis situations, travelling alone, managing money, taking care of myself, all of it.

4. The best way to make people cooperate with you is to understand them and where they're coming from.

5. *Sometimes* being a likable person will get you work before experience will.

6. If you can't avoid hurting someone, do it fast and as soon as possible. There is never a good time to hurt someone, especially someone who loves you.

7. Never do anything or continue to do anything out of guilt, such as staying in a relationship.

8. Sometimes the best thing you can do for an overly dependent person is nothing.

9. Vegetables are better for me than I thought. I know, big d'uh.

10. I can never be certain of the future, I can't even be certain if the things I learn from year to year will always ring true. The only thing I can be sure of is the fact that no matter how much I want to, I can't orchestrate my life. Sometimes, what happens, happens.

2004 has been one of the best years of my life. Seriously, most of it has to do with falling in love. Travelling, graduating, getting a job...all these things helped make this year exceptional, but it's Ross that has really made the difference for me.

I bet some of you are curious as heck about what he looks like. Here's a link.
.
.
.
.
.
I have exquisite taste in men.

1 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25