new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

Speaker's Corner
2005, April 13 - 6:05 p.m.

Okay, so read this and die laughing. Caitlin sent this to me while I was at work and I was struggling not to laugh so hard that tears streamed down my face. The link may not work sometimes, but do not despair, it is worth the extra tries.

I never thought any roommate problem could be as bad as that story. It is the best worst thing I have ever heard.

Ross has gone home today after a record 11 nights in a row here. It was an accidental record that came from me being sick and him changing his plans. It's now going to be 5 nights without him; he has a hockey tournament in Ottawa. I can't go because I'm working. I've never been to one of his tournaments for the same reason. It kind of sucks.

Something cool happened the other day. I was on Speaker's Corner. That is, I was on it Saturday night, missed it because I was sick and watched the video on my computer at work. I talked about an episode of the Passionate Eye that I saw where 13- and 14- year-olds were saying that blow jobs were less intimate than kissing. It was mind blowing and frightening. They didn't define oral sex as sex. What?!

Further, these kids knew nothing about sex, STDs, AIDS, or anything other than condoms. What kind of sex education are these kids getting where they are only being given condoms? How about explaining the emotional parts of sex, the benefits, the consequences and the relationship aspects? Why not discuss the importance of communication and trust in relationships that have the potential to become sexual?

I mean, condoms are being handed out because "they're going to do it anyway," so why not "if they're going to do it anyway," teach how to approach sex in a mature way? Like, if you don't feel comfortable talking about birth control/STDs/sexual history/sexual expectations/trust/commitment then you're not ready to begin having a sexual relationship.

If you think you may feel regret afterwards you're not ready. If you have doubt, you're not ready. If you're only doing it because you think it will make him like you more/love you, you're not ready. If you are afraid of feeling pressure to continue having sex after the first time, you're not ready. If you're afraid of losing him, you're not ready. If you're trying to keep up with your friends, you're not ready.

And what about recieving sexual pleasure? What about making these boys learn that they need to please you first before your mouth goes anywhere near their penis? What about being selective? What about having standards? Such as saying, he treats me well, he makes me feel special, he listens to me, I'm attracted to him, I know he loves me, I love him too and having sex is a reflection of how much we love each other. Physical intimacy should reflect emotional intimacy but it can't work the other way and still leave a teenage girl feeling good about herself.

It's nor a moral issue, teenagers having sex, it's a maturity issue. When you're 13, 14, 15, your body is begining to change and your brain is begining to get filled with hormones and your ablity to reason isn't fully developed. Not exactly the best time to introduce something in to your life that carries as much emotional gravity as sex.

I blame parents who are trying to be cool friends to their kids instead of parents. I blame the schools and school systems for giving shitty sex ed. I blame the entertainment industry like MTV and all the sexually charged rap and pop videos, being for some kids, the only sex ed they get. I blame retailers for providing 13-year-olds with super low rise jeans in size 0 for those extra undeveloped hips (and every other unbelievely age inapropriate clothing I see girls wearing) and again I blame parrents for giving their kids money to buy these things.

Did I say all this on Speaker's Corner? No, I only had 2 minutes. But If I ever have a daughter, rest assured, she'll get all of it plus.

3 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25