new old contact about cast extras design private clix host
<< tradition - modern >>
-disclaimer-

New opportunity...?
2005, July 18 - 9:33 p.m.

Okay, so I have a new opportunity. There is a job opening at the magazine I interned at last year. It's entry level and I'm qualified. They know me and they had asked me back for short term work before I got my job at H.Place.

I told H.Place I would work for them a year and it's been almost eight months. Not quite there. They pay me well, there are benefits and my vacation is coming up way soon, in a month actually. So these are all factors.

But I really am interested in this editorial job at the magazine. I want to try for it, I want to get it and I want to work at a magazine again doing creative things. How many jobs like this come up? At places that know me and my work, where I am qualified and I already know I like it there?

I'll call them tomorrow and ask more questions. I need to know how much it pays, when the start date is and very importantly, what kind of chances do I have? What exactly is this kind of position? Is it like an editorial assistant? It says Editorial Administrator. Is that the same thing?

Oy... It kind of stresses me out. My inclination in life is to keep things stable and uncomplicated. I mean, planning my backpacking trip last year freaked me out. Getting the plane tickets was a stomach-wrenching experience. But that turned out okay. This could too.

My fears include:

Actually getting the job and having to quit my job at H.Place. They're good people and I don't want to cause bad feelings by quitting before I said I would.

Getting the job and then losing my two week trip to Ireland and Austria with Ross because of an early start date (Which could still be bad because then I'd take my vacation and then quit.)

Not getting the job and feeling inadequate.

So yeah, I'm going to begin a process now of applying to this job. I'm trying to tell myself I'm not looking for another job but rather I've come across something better suited to me. I know I'll be much prouder of myself if I worked there and I'd be happier. I'm happy now but something is missing. I'm not being creative.

God help me.

0 comments so far

<< tradition - modern >>

Thank You - 2006, June 7
The end - 2006, June 4
Canada Loves Me - 2006, May 31
In and Out - 2006, May 28
Where Have I Been? - 2006, May 25